Querying and Full Requests

It’s one thing to read about other people talking about how horrible querying is, but it’s a whole different story when you’re in the thick of it. I currently have four full requests out. I am so grateful that any agent requested a full. On the other hand, it’s really nerve wracking! I know the publishing industry as a whole is all about being patient. You wait for edits and book covers and all that good stuff. I’d like to believe I’m patient. The reason why this is killing me, though, is it’s waiting to hear if an agent believes in you and your work. If it doesn’t work out this time, I’ll continue querying, or write something new and query that. But for now, I sit ever-so-patiently to wait and hear if someone, besides my family and me, believe in my writing.

I should probably talk about how I got here from where I was last post seeing as it’s been… a while. So Beth Phelan, agent at The Bent Agency, put on an AMAZING event called DVpit for diverse writers and stories from marginalized voices. Well, seeing as I’m a gay male, I would say I’m a diverse voice/writer. So I tweeted my heart out, and I ended the day with 26 requests from agents, 2 editors, and 2 editors from bigger houses that couldn’t technically participate but said they would like to look at my work once I had an agent. It was a mind blowing experience.

I narrowed down that list and queried the agents I thought sounded like a good fit for me. It hasn’t been all rainbows and butterflies, though! I have received rejections as well, and even though I have fulls out, each one still stings a little.

But I’m going to keep my head up, and keep moving forward. There’s not much else you can do at this point!

Now I’m going to go check email for the 466th time today then I’ll continue to work on my new WIP.

Leave a Reply

